City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Really Jazzy Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Laroo, Saskia
Title: Really Jazzy
Format: CD
Label: LAROO  ( )
Catalog Number:801
Barcode:8712177053612 itemnumber=1000027998
Price: $9.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: DANCE
Release Date: 5/20/2008
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Funky Dance Grooves with jazzy Solos & Hiphop Rap 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

"Really Jazzy" a melange of Funk, Dance, and Jazz using instrumental themes, vocals, rap, beatbox, and improvisation over hip grooves. featuring not only a versatile Saskia Laroo playing trumpet, saxophone, upright bass & vocals, but also international artists: Warren Byrd besides playing piano and keyboards, also sang vocals and co-arranged many of the pieces. Surinamese/Dutch Rapper MC Firestorm and rapper MC Phantom from Ghana perform on several tracks; Guyanese rapper and beatboxers Stewlocks and Eyesful, who quadruples as a dijeridoo player and mouth-harpist. Guitarist Jex aka Zoran Jager drummer Ronald Wright formerly with the George Clinton Band spice the CD with riffs and rhythm throughout.

Track Listing
[ 3:45] Jazzn Jamz

[ 4:15] Courtesy To Coltrane

[ 4:05] Really Jazzy

[ 4:02] Up The Mountain

[ 5:12] Same Song

[ 5:34] Munchin'

[ 4:18] Kumpa

[ 5:10] Big Blues

[ 5:26] Night Garden

[ 6:17] Funky Roads

[ 4:24] Jealousy

[ 4:47] Go For It

Performers on this Album
Saskia Laroo: trumpet [all], flugelhorn (thanks to Adams) [3,9], sax [1,3], acoustic bass [1], vocals [1,2,4-7,11]
Warren Byrd: piano/synth [1-11] all tracks except 12; vocals [1,2,4-7,10,11]
Iven Naipal alias MC Firestorm: rap vocals [1,4,7,8,10,12]
Andy Ninvalle alias Stewlocks: rap vocals & beatbox [6,12]
Nana Barimah alias MC Phantom: rap vocals [1,7,8,10,12]
Sebastien William alias Eyesful: beatbox [1,3,4,6-8,10]; digeri doo & mouthbongo [6]
Jan Kiewiet de Jonge alias Johnny Tenor: tenorsax [1]
Frank Lacey: trombone, vocals [11]
Ricky Wiranatakusuma: keyboard [1]
Zoran 'Jex' Jager: guitar [1,2,6,8,9,10]
Steven 'King' Porter: acoustic bass [2, 8], electric bass [9]
Robin Koerts: electric bass [10]
David Chevan: acoustic bass [6]
Ronald Wright: drums [1,2,4-12], vocals [10]
Eugene Jackson: drums & vocals [7]
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Release Bit Depth: 16 Bits
Release Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz
Release Encoding: Digital
Original Recording Location: Saskia's Studio, Amsterdam, the Netherlands; Studio de Boot, Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Original Recording Engineer: Saskia Laroo, Rob Gaasterland
Initial Recording Mic Setup: Mixed
Initial Source Master Format: Digital
Mixdown Master Format: Digital
Mastering Facility: Qpoint, Hilversum, the Netherlands
Mastering Engineer: Peter Brusse
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 03/02/21