City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Race The Loser / Ghosts Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Lau
Title: Race The Loser / Ghosts
Format: LP 180 Gram Vinyl
Catalog Number:42
Barcode:5060187000335 itemnumber=1000112737
Price: $48.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 3/19/2013
Availability: In Stock
Return Eligibility: NON-RETURNABLE
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

(LP + CD) Lau are modern folk music’s most innovative band. Brilliant musicians, thrilling performers and free thinking visionaries. In 2007 their debut album ‘Lightweights and Gentlemen’ mixed original tunes with inspired arrangements of traditional material and rocketed Lau to the fore of the burgeoning new folk scene, soon followed by a staggering onslaught of awards that includes an unprecedented three consecutive wins as Best Group at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. Their new album ‘Race The Loser’ was recorded with American producer Tucker Martine (Sufjan Stevens, The Decemberists, R.E.M., Laura Veirs) in Scotland throughout the Spring of 2012. It pushes Lau’s complex, yet accessible sound, even further to the outer reaches of folk music whilst retaining all the strengths of the original acoustic trio (Kris Drever Vocals/Guitar, Martin Green Accordion, Aidan O’Rourke Fiddle). ‘Race The Loser’ features Lau’s best, most universal and significant music yet, the sound of three exceptionally talented friends embracing with open arms yet another new chapter of what has already been an extraordinary musical journey. The deluxe 180g double vinyl version will include ‘Ghosts’, Lau’s collaborative EP with Adem and a CD of ‘Race The Loser’.

Track Listing
Side A

[5:20] Saint Monday

[7:51] Far From Portland

[4:12] The Bird That Winds The Spring

[0:38] Missing Pieces

[5:27] Save The Bees

Side B

[6:59] Torsa

[4:27] Throwing Pennies

[4.37] Noltland Castle

[5:17] Beer Engineer

Side C

[9:33] Farewell To Whisky Chess

[7:47] Imporsa

[4:32] Ghosts

Side D

[1:06] Happy Sevens

[5:50] Mr Timony

[3:32] Jargonaut

[2:43] Last Ghost Alive

Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: LP         
Vinyl Weight: 180 grams
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 07/09/20