City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >A Simple Truth Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Watts Quartet, Ernie
Title: A Simple Truth
Format: CD
Catalog Number:1009
Barcode:724101250729 itemnumber=1000116425
Price: $17.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 5/20/2014
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
acoustic jazz 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
Will be doing a promotional mailing to jazz press and jazz radio stations. Artist tours USA and Europe on a regular basis.

The project A Simple Truth is the jazz energy arc of a day, starting with sunrise. It is book ended with two orchestral pieces, 'The Sound: Morning' and 'The Sound: Evening'. The first Quartet tune is the exquisitely-structured ballad 'No Lonely Nights' by Keith Jarrett, introduced by a solo cadenza by Watts. Following tunes 'The Road We're On', and 'Acceptance' (this by Watts) increase the energy level until the Dizzy Gillespie classic 'Bebop' brings us soaring to this jazz day's height. Then the energy winds gently down with 'Hope in the Face of Despair' and finally reaches 'A Simple Truth', Watts' gorgeously simple ballad statement, which flows into the final orchestral piece.

Track Listing
[2:50] The Sound: Morning  (Ron Feuer / Ernie Watts)

[8:07] No Lonely Nights  (Keith Jarrett)

[7:28] The Road We're On  (Heinrich Koebberling)

[10:34] Acceptance  (Ernie Watts)

[6:31] Bebop  (Dizzy Gillespie)

[9:45] Hope in the Face of Despair  (Billy Childs)

[5:52] A Simple Truth  (Ernie Watts / Marc Seales)

[4:04] The Sound: Evening  (Ron Feuer / Ernie Watts)

Performers on this Album
Ernie Watts
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 04/16/21