City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Time Remembered: Compositions Of Bill Evans Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Norton Collective, Jim
Title: Time Remembered: Compositions Of Bill Evans
Format: CD
Catalog Number:82678
Barcode:805558267826 itemnumber=1000117212
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 11/18/2014
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
West Coast performances; 100 national & international press contacts serviced; Service to 300 jazz stations including CMJ and Jazzweek reporting stations; Service print & internet jazz magazines.

Originally from San Francisco, Seattle-based composer, arranger, and woodwind multi-instrumentalist Jim Norton returned to the Bay Area to reunite with a stellar cast of former bandmates for a wide-ranging exploration of the compositions of Bill Evans. With his distinctive harmonic language and experimentation with mixed meters, polyrhythms and non-traditional forms, Evans's music provides an intriguing platform for Norton's inspired arrangements. •" of the most satisfying and revelatory investigations into the music of Bill Evans since the pianist/composer's death..." - Andy Gilbert, San Francisco Chronicle.

Track Listing
[5:36] Fudgesickle Built for Four 

[3:41] Time Remembered 

[4:00] Journey to Recife 

[4:42] Five 

[1:55] NYC’s No Lark 

[3:59] Interplay

[3:34] Walkin’ Up 

[3:05] Very Early 

[2:57] Bill’s Hit Tune

[3:26] Peri’s Scope

[5:50] Twelve Tone Tune 

[2:19] Laurie 

[6:01] Comrade Conrad 

[8:18] Fudgesickle Built for Four (Reprise) 

[2:53] 34 Skidoo

Performers on this Album
Tim Devine: Soprano, Alto Saxophones, Piccolo, Flute
Kristen Strom: Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Alto Flute
Charlie McCarthy: Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Jim Norton: Baritone Saxophone, Bass Flute, Clarinet, Contra-Alto Clarinet, Bassoon
Louis Fasman: Trumpet, Flugelhorn
John L. Worley, Jr.: Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Cathleen Torres: French Horn
Joel Behrman: Tenor Trombone
Jeff Cressman: Tenor and Bass Trombone
Scott Sorkin: Guitar
John Shifflett: Bass
Jason Lewis: Drums
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: MarketSound Studios, San Jose, CA
Original Recording Engineer: Lee Ray
Mastering Facility: Knob and Tube, San Francisco, CA
Mastering Engineer: Gary Mankin
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 01/21/21