City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Factory Girl Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Christiansen, Corey
Title: Factory Girl
Format: CD
Catalog Number:82715
Barcode:805558271526 itemnumber=1000119536
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 6/17/2016
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern Jazz Guitar Quintet 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
US performances; Over 75 national & international press contacts serviced; Service to 300 jazz stations including CMJ and Jazzweek reporting stations; Service print & internet jazz magazines.

After many years of crafting the music he loves in various genres, guitarist Corey Christiansen has found a home with the unique combination of jazz and traditional American music he's explored in his last several recordings. On Factory Girl, Corey has singled out the feminine side of American frontier music and remodeled simple tunes into rhythmic and harmonically subtle contemporary arrangements. As guitar great Andy Summers states in his liner notes: "Corey is at the frontier of American jazz guitar. In addition to a gorgeous jazz tone, he also employs edgy blues tones and biting slide guitar that would make Duane Allman sit up. Even on these antique pieces, Corey plays inside and outside of the harmonic structures with a natural and gifted ease. Maybe he has created a new genre here. Avant Folk, maybe? Whatever it is, this is a great album with stellar playing all round and a great pleasure for guitar fans." •"...Christiansen lights a rhythmic fire that never flickers, punctuating chords with precision and soloing with zeal..." - DOWNBEAT

Track Listing
[7:17]  She's Gone

[5:33]  Cluck ol' Hen

[4:18]  Shenandoah 

[4:53]  Factory Girl  

[2:21]  That I Should Know Your Face

[5:27]  John Hardy

[5:08]  Old Joe Clark

[6:05]  One's Promised

[7:16]  Beour

Performers on this Album
Corey Christiansen - Guitars
Zach Lapidus - Keyboards, SuperCollider
Jeremy Allen - Acoustic and Electric Bass
Matt Jorgensen - Drums
Michael Spiro - Percussion
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 05/25/20