City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Rumbler Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Anschell, Bill
Title: Rumbler
Format: CD
Catalog Number:82728
Barcode:805558272820 itemnumber=1000120315
Price: $16.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 1/20/2017
Availability: Not Currently In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern jazz quintet 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
Northwest performances; 100 national & international press contacts serviced; Service to 300 jazz stations including CMJ and Jazzweek reporting stations; Service print & internet jazz magazines.

"Magical...No matter where Anschell plays on the keyboard, he sounds like no other pianist." - JazzTimes. After a decade of recording mostly unscripted, improvised albums focused on his deep musical relationships with a few key players, pianist Bill Anschell returns to recording his own compositions and arrangements on "Rumbler," his fifteenth as a leader or co-leader. Anschell penned eight of the eleven tracks as well as arrangements of Thelonious Monk's "Misterioso" and Paul McCartney's "For No One." Mostly written on the road in planes and hotel rooms, "Rumbler" doubles as a musical travelogue, especially vivid in its reflection of experiences from his touring in South America over the last several years. Anschell is joined by a stellar cast of Seattle musicians, plus a guest appearance by Nashville saxophonist Jeff Coffin on the title track.The album closes with a moving, fully improvised solo expression of Duke Ellington's under-recorded "Reflections in D."

Track Listing
[7:10]  Misterioso

[5:30]  Dark Wind

[5:50]  Captive Light

[6:20]  MBK 

[4:45]  No You Go

[5:50]  For No One

[7:45]  Rumbler

[4:25]  39F

[5:35]  Heisenberg’s Fugue State

[5:10]  The Dreaded E Word

[6:36]  Reflections in D

Performers on this Album
Bill Anschell - piano
Chris Symer - bass
Jose Martinez - drums
Brian Monroney - guitar (1,4,9,10)
Jeff Busch - percussion (2,8)
Jeff Coffin - soprano sax (7)
Rich Cole - tenor sax (1)
Hans Teuber - alto flute (2), tenor sax (3), alto sax (8)
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 03/21/23