City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Clockwise: The Music Of Cedar Walton Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Markley Big Band, Ben
Title: Clockwise: The Music Of Cedar Walton
Format: CD
Label: OA2 RECORDS  ( )
Catalog Number:22139
Barcode:805552213928 itemnumber=1000120374
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 2/17/2017
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
Colorado performances; 100 national & international press contacts serviced; Service to 300 jazz stations including CMJ and Jazzweek reporting stations; Service print & internet jazz magazines

Pianist Ben Markley, along with special guest trumpeter Terell Stafford, celebrates one of the more influential and beloved figures in jazz through this unique project, showcasing many of the late pianist and composer Cedar Walton's most revered tunes through new arrangements for big band. Performing iconic compositions such as "Hindsight," "Bolivia," and "Holy Land," Markley brings together fellow faculty members from the University of Wyoming and top-flight Denver-area musicians to produce an honest and swinging recording that honors Cedar Walton while presenting his music in a bright new light. •"Ben has found a way to embrace the music of Cedar Walton and transform it into stellar big band arrangements that express his voice, sound and musical genius." - TERELL STAFFORD " hear a big band's interpretation of Cedar's music has to be the most beautiful thing I have ever heard in my life!...I know Cedar is beaming at the results!!" - MARTHA WALTON

Track Listing
[5:53] Cedar’s Blues

[7:32] Clockwise

[7:36] Fiesta Espanol

[9:28] Hindsight

[6:41] I’ll Let You Know

[7:31] I;m Not So Sure

[10:03] Holy Land

[6:07] Bolivia

[5:55] Martha’s Prize

[8:56] Black

Performers on this Album
Wil Swindler: saxophones
Scott Turpen: saxophones
Peter Sommer: saxophones
Serafin Sanchez: saxophones
Sam Williams: saxophones
Scott Crump: trombone
Paul McKee: trombone
Adam Bartczak: trombone
Gary Mayne: trombone
Pete Olstad: trumpet
Greg Gisbert: trumpet
John Lake: trumpet
Terell Stafford: trumpet
Ben Markley - piano
Steve Kovalcheck - guitar (2,6)
Ken Walker - bass
Chris Smith - drums
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Mighty Fine Productions, Denver, CO
Original Recording Engineer: Colin Bricker
Mastering Facility: Platinum Productions, Monroe, N.Y.
Mastering Engineer: Phil Bulla
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 04/22/21