City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Vol. 2 Different Me Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Desperadoes Steel Orchestra
Title: Vol. 2 Different Me
Format: CD
Catalog Number:8304
Barcode:752864083049 itemnumber=1000120706
Price: $22.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 5/19/2017
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

A collection of eleven tracks by pan-music artists, the "Desperadoes Steel Orchestra", includes Stevie Wonder's "Overjoyed", Joseph Kosma's "Autumn Leaves" and more. The Desperadoes came into being in the early 1940s, and over the years through its various states and sponsors, brought tremendous pride to Trinidad & Tobago and music to the world. Laventille is the epicenter of the Steelpan, indigenous national musical instrument of Trinidad & Tobago. From foot to summit, its sound emanates and resonates throughout the land. Today, there is a determined resolve to initiate a resurgence of Laventille, to restore its pride and performance. The work starts immediately and is spearheaded by the return of Desperadoes to the top of the Hill and sharing its vast repertoire with the world. The Pacific Micronics High Definition Compatible Digital recording process HDCD was co-invented by well-known audio engineer Keith O. Johnson and computer software designer Michael Pflaumer. It utilizes a highly sophisticated encode/decode system that greatly reduces both additive and subtractive distortions, which are manifested during conventional digital recording and playback. This CD is compatible with all CD players.

Track Listing
Musical Volcano - comp. and arr. by Robert Greenidge 11:52

Bound to Dance - Joey Lewis arr. by Carlton Alexander 8:48

Autumn Leaves - Joseph Kosma arr. by Eddie Quarless 4:58

For the Love of you - Ernie Isley & Chris Jasper arr. by Robert Greenidge 4:57

Come with it - Leroy Caliste (Black Stalin) arr. by Carlton Alexander 7:00

Heroes - Fitzgerald Henry (The Mighty Terror) arr. by Carlton Alexander  4:55

Overjoyed - Stevie Wonder arr. by Raf Robertson 5:40

This Masquerade - George Benson arr. by Keith Salcedo 5:10

I don’t Mind - Winston Soso arr. by Andre Robley 4:52

Slave - Slinger Francisco (The Mighty Sparrow) arr. by Carlton Alexander 4:14

Different Me - comp. and arr. by Carlton Alexander 9:12

Performers on this Album
Double Seconds:
David Davis (Captain)
Adrian Glasgow (Vice Captain & Section Leader)
Anthony Brown

Ricky Andre Robley (Section Leader)
Ursula Tudor
Michael Duncan
Steve Gomez
Hakeem O’ Brien
Michael Glasgow

Double Tenors:
Carlon Morris
Nathaniel Moses

Double Guitars:
Kevin Glasgow (Section Leader)
Clifford Brown
Urica Pierre-Gilchrist
Heston Gilchrist
Nigel Flemming

Rosford Couteau (Nine Bass and Section Leader)
Miranda Martin (Six Bass)
Josanne Williams (Six Bass)
Quasi Moore (Six Bass)
Earl Noel (Tenor Bass)
Brian Charles (Tenor Bass)
Keva Fraith (Tenor Bass)

Rawle Flemming (Drummer and Section Leader)
Phillip Elder (Scratcher}
Trevor Moe (Iron)
Willis Roban (Congas)
Carlton Douglas (Congas)
Kenneth Richards (Tock Tock)
Glenford Rawlins (Tambourine)
Steve Gomez & (Timbales)
Willis (Maracas)
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 08/10/20