City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Crossing Borders Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Cortes, Eva
Title: Crossing Borders
Format: CD
Catalog Number:82745
Barcode:805558274527 itemnumber=1000121915
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 11/17/2017
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
International touring; 100 national & international press contacts serviced; Service to 300 jazz stations including Jazzweek reporting stations; Service print & internet jazz magazines.

Born in Honduras and raised in Sevilla, NYC-based singer/songwriter Eva Cortes delivers a revelatory set of flamenco and blues-tinged Latin jazz on her seventh release, "Crossing Borders." Working for the first time with producer, arranger, and trombonist Doug Beavers, Cortes brought together top-shelf New York musicians for the date, including Luques Curtis, Robby Ameen, Jon Cowherd, Pepe Rivero, Luisito Quintero, Roman Filiu, and a special appearance by bassist Christian McBride. Weaving together captivating original compositions and popular Latin American mainstays, Eva Cortes also adds a social footnote by dedicating the pulsating title track to the 500 lost lives of African refugees in an incident off the southern coast of Italy in 2013. •"The new queen of Latin jazz has personality and everything it takes to deserve the title." - EL PAIS, Spain •“...a singer in whose artistic melting pot the flavor of flamenco, Caribbean passion and the spices of jazz all mix...” - El Mundo, Spain

Track Listing
[4:01] Coraz0n

[3:19] The Sky is Crying

[4:47] Deja Vu

[3:51] Quiz’s

[4:37] Rabo de Nube

[4:10] Se Te Olvida

[4:21] Noche de Luna

[4:06] Sabor a Mi

[4:01] Contigo en Montego

[3:37] Crossing Borders

[3:23] Piel Canela

Performers on this Album
Eva Cortés - vocals
Roman Filiú - alto sax, alto flute
Jonathan Powell - trumpet
Doug Beavers - trombone, arrangements
Marvin Sewell - guitar
Jon Cowherd - piano (3,7)
Pepe Rivero - piano, arrangements
Luques Curtis - acoustic bass
Christian McBride - bass, special guest
Robby Ameen - drums
Luisito Quintero - percussion
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Kaliedoscope Records, Union City, NJ
Original Recording Engineer: Christian Rizzo
Mastering Facility: Bass Hit Recording, NYC
Mastering Engineer: Dave Darlington
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 08/08/20