City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Phrases Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Baker, Jeff
Title: Phrases
Format: CD
Label: OA2 RECORDS  ( )
Catalog Number:22150
Barcode:805552215021 itemnumber=1000122168
Price: $16.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 1/19/2018
Availability: Not Currently In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern jazz vocals septet 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
National performances; 100 national & international press contacts serviced; Service to 300 jazz stations including Jazzweek reporting stations; Service print & internet jazz magazines.

Critically acclaimed vocalist JEFF BAKER returns with his 5th OA2 Records release, an alive and bristling set of originals and thoughtfully conceived pop and jazz standards. Collaborating with some of the most influential and compelling jazz musicians in the world today - Brian Blade, Steve Wilson, Marquis Hill, Clark Sommers, Geof Bradfield, and Gregory Uhlmann - Baker and his co-producer/musical director, pianist Darrell Grant, present a provocative collection of original songs and arrangements based on text by writers such as Pablo Neruda, J.D. Salinger, A.A. Milne and Salvador Plascencia. Certainly, his most ambitious and personal recording yet. •"From all accounts, this charismatic crooner needs to be tracked closely. Mr. Baker has the potential to skyrocket to many accolade-coated triumphs." - JazzTrenzz

Track Listing
[6:03]  Neruda

[8:56]  And So It Goes

[5:39]  People of Paper

[7:37]  Ballad of the Sad Young Men

[8:05]  Harbor

[7:48]  Lost

[5:57]  A Hundred Less One

[5:48]  Salinger

[6:57]  Not Cause I Wanted To

[6:20]  Stay Alive

[5:57]  Don't Worry Bout Me

Performers on this Album
Jeff Baker - Vocals
Darrell Grant - Piano
Clark Sommers - Bass
Brian Blade - Drums
Steve Wilson - Saxophone
Marquis Hill - Trumpet
Geof Bradfield - Saxophone
Gregory Uhlmann - Guitar
Blaise Magniere - Violin
Marie Wang - Violin
Anthony Devroye - Viola
Cheng-Hou Lee - Cello
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Transient Sound Chicago, IL
Original Recording Engineer: Vijay Tellis-Nayak
Mastering Facility: Resonant Mastering Seattle, WA
Mastering Engineer: Ed Brooks
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 02/26/24