City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Without A Trace Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Reeves Jazz Orchestra, Scott
Title: Without A Trace
Format: CD
Catalog Number:82752
Barcode:805558275227 itemnumber=1000122295
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 3/16/2018
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern Big Band Jazz 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
East coast performances; Publicity by Ann Braithwaite; 340 US radio and press contacts services including JazzWeek reporting stations

New York composer, trombonist & alto flugelhornist Scott Reeves' Jazz Orchestra has been hard at work since 2008, but it was only in 2016 with the release of the group's debut recording, "Portraits and Places," that a wider audience was offered a peek at Reeves' broad and sophisticated talents. With outstanding New York musicians, including saxophonists Steve Wilson, Tim Armacost, pianist Jim Ridl and vocalist Carolyn Leonhart, Scott's music offers an inspired approach to big band writing, combining a contemporary harmonic palette and nontraditional forms with infectious, swinging grooves and great soloing by world-class jazz artists. "Without a Trace" features arrangements of standards such as Kurt Weill's "Speak Low," and "All or Nothing At All," along with Wayne Shorter's "Juju", and then four Reeves originals, including "Something for Thad," a tribute to the great Thad Jones. "...a keen ear for melody, harmony and counterpoint...his compositions are sophisticated yet accessible, his arrangements scrupulously burnished and invariably engaging." - ALL ABOUT JAZZ.

Track Listing
[6:54] Speak

[7:38] Without a

[7:22] All or Nothing at All

[6:53] Incandescence

[5:46] JuJu                                                                                     

[8:32] Shapeshifter

[6:45] Something for Thad

Performers on this Album
Scott Reeves – conductor, trombone (3), alto flugelhorn (6)
Steve Wilson - soprano/alto saxes, flute
Vito Chiavuzzo - alto sax, flute
Rob Middleton - tenor sax, clarinet
Tim Armacost - tenor sax
Jay Brandford - bari sax (5–7)
Terry Goss - bari sax (1-4)
Seneca Black - lead trumpet
Nathan Eklund - trumpet
Chris Rogers - trumpet (1–4)
Bill Mobley - trumpet (5-7)
Andy Gravish - trumpet
Tim Sessions - lead trombone
Matt McDonald - trombone
Matt Haviland - trombone
Max Siegel - bass trombone
Jim Ridl- piano
Dave Ellson - vibes (4)
Todd Coolman - bass
Andy Watson - drums
Carolyn Leonhart - vocals (2)
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: The Sonic Arts Center, City College of New York, NYC
Original Recording Engineer: Paul Special
Mastering Facility: AlgoRhythms Mastering, Sante Fe, NM
Mastering Engineer: Michael MacDonald
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 11/27/20