City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Music In My Mind Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Maxwell's New Tomorrow, Shawn
Title: Music In My Mind
Format: CD
Label: OA2 RECORDS  ( )
Catalog Number:22155
Barcode:805552215526 itemnumber=1000122427
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 5/18/2018
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
Midwest performances;340 US radio and press contacts services including JazzWeek reporting stations

One of the preeminent performers in Chicago jazz, saxophonist Shawn Maxwell has released several recordings featuring his quartet or his sonically expanded dectet, "Alliance." With his New Tomorrow group, he augments his working quartet with the singular trumpet voices of three of Chicago's finest”- Victor Garcia, Chad McCullough and Corey Wilkes - and the inspired and often dazzling vocalist, Dee Alexander, for a set of ten modern, electric originals. Focusing on composition as much as improvisation, the quintets reveal stunning melodies hidden within complex time signatures, textures and grooves. •"...a marvelously collaborative spirit...the innovative impulse that motivates this colorful project is refreshing." - DOWNBEAT

Track Listing
[5:15]  Our Princess is in Another Castle 

[6:38]  Music In My Mind

[1:45]  Untitled Tune #1

[4:01]  Maxwell’s House

[4:28]  Herding Happiness

[4:34]  He Gone

[4:00]  King Bill

[6:59]  Another Monday

[6:31]  Glamasue

[4:34]  Snow Snow

Performers on this Album
Shawn Maxwell – alto saxophone/clarinet/flute
Dee Alexander – voice (1,2,4)
Victor Garcia – trumpet/flugelhorn (2,8)
Chad McCullough – trumpet/flugelhorn (1,3,4,5,9)
Corey Wilkes – trumpet (6,10)
Matt Nelson – piano/Rhodes
Patrick Mulcahy – electric bass (6,10)
Junius Paul – electric & acoustic bass (1,2,4,5,7,8)
Tim Seisser – electric bass (3,9)
Phil Beale – drums
Stephen Lynerd – vibraphone (5)
Kalyan Pathak - Duff drums, Paiste Cup Chimes, Djembe, Percussion (7)
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Shirk Studios, Chicago, IL:
Original Recording Engineer: Nick Eipers
Mastering Facility: Crann Darach Studios, Chicago
Mastering Engineer: Nick Eipers
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 07/16/19