City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >The Great Irish Songbook Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Christie, Tony & Ranagri
Title: The Great Irish Songbook
Format: LP 180 Gram Vinyl
Catalog Number:8087
Barcode:4013357808713 itemnumber=1000122709
Price: $49.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 8/17/2018
Availability: Not Currently In Stock
Return Eligibility: NON-RETURNABLE
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

Years after the release of his million-selling hit 'Amarillo", Tony Christie rounds off his long career with a nostalgic trip to his family's Irish roots - and has produced an Irish folk album of the very highest musical and audio quality. For this project he was able to acquire the services of the band "Ranagri", who have worked with such international luminaries as Peter Gabriel, Stevie Wonder and Ennio Morricone. Twelve of the most beautiful Irish folk classics including for instance "Wild Mountain Thyme" and "Carrickfergus", were recorded by Christie and the band in the Grammy-nominated Stockfisch Studio in Northeim, where producer Gunter Pauler has earned an international reputation for the unusually high sound-quality of his work. Ranagri (pronounced Ran-ag-rye) is a venture from four musicians who have come together to create some exciting new sounds. Consisting of flutes, ethnic flutes, electric harp, bodhran, guitar, bouzouki and vocals, Ranagri fuse worldwide folk music with quality contemporary song writing, enhanced by virtuosic instrumentals, vibrant rhythms and haunting melodies, all interlaced with vivid storytelling. Heavy Weight High Quality 33rpm 180 gram Vinyl LP. Made in Germany. Mastering by Hans-Jorg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics.

Track Listing
Cliffs Of Dooneen

On Raglan Road

The Banks Of The Lee

Spancil Hill

Star Of The County Down

When You Were Sweet Sixteen

Lord Franklin

She Moved Through The Fair


The Black Velvet Band

Wild Mountain Thyme

The Parting Glass

Performers on this Album
Tony Christie, vocals
Donal Rogers, guitar, banjo, shaker, drum, monochord, tambourine, vocals
Jean Kelly, harp, electric harp
Eliza Marshall, flute, bass flute, whistle, low whistle, bansuri, harmonium, vocals
Tad Sargent, bodhran, bouzouki, vocals

Manfred Leuchter, accordion
Jens Kommnick, pipes
Lucile Chaubard, violoncello
Justin Stefan Ciuche, viola
Lutz Moller, harpsichord, keyboard
Mary MacMaster, backing vocals
Eilidh Shaw, backing vocals
Mairearad Green, backing vocals, accordion
Urs Fuchs, bass
Hans-Jorg Maucksch, bass
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: LP         
Vinyl Weight: 180 grams
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 03/03/24