City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Moving Day - The Music Of John Shifflett Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Strom, Kristen
Title: Moving Day - The Music Of John Shifflett
Format: CD
Label: OA2 RECORDS  ( )
Catalog Number:22161
Barcode:805552216127 itemnumber=1000122902
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 10/19/2018
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern Jazz 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
West Coast performances; Monterey Jazz Festival; 340 US radio and press contacts services including JazzWeek reporting stations

John Shifflett (1955 - 2017) John Shifflett was a beloved bassist, well-known as the sideman in many of the San Francisco Bay Area's foremost ensembles and for traveling jazz dignitaries. Kept more as a guarded secret was his compositional skills and library of compelling and varied pieces of music. Saxophonist Kristen Strom, guitarist Scott Sorkin and drummer Jason Lewis played with John in their quartet and on countless other projects over the last 25 years. For this deeply heartfelt tribute to their friend, Kristen, Scott and Jason have arranged a collection of his compositions and brought together some of his esteemed Bay Area colleagues to perform, record, and celebrate his music. Without a doubt, a labor of love, and a testament to a life well lived in service to music, the creative process, and friends. •"With a tone that's lithe and lustrous, Kristen Strom embodies her musical philosophy in every note she plays." - Andy Gilbert, San Jose Mercury News

Track Listing
[6:47] Moving Day

[5:13] Mt. Hamilton

[7:41] Her Garden

[8:31] The Vikings

[7:14] Quantum Theory

[8:13] Down to the Sea in Ships

[7:51] Iowa

[2:07] Franklin’s Men/Northwest Passage

Performers on this Album
Kristen Strom – soprano, alto and tenor sax, flutes, clarinets
Scott Sorkin – guitars
Ken Okada – bass
Jason Lewis – drums, percussion, vibraphone
Dahveed Behroozi – piano (tracks 3 - 6)
Aaron Lington – bari sax, bass clarinet (tracks – 2, 7)
Jeff Lewis – trumpet (2) flugelhorn (2), cornet (8)
John Worley – trumpet (2) flugelhorn (7), cornet (8)
John Gove – trombone (tracks 2, 5, 7, 8)
John R. Burr – piano (tracks 2, 8)
Dan Robbins – bass (track 2)
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA
Original Recording Engineer: Dan Feiszli
Mastering Facility: Sienna Digital
Mastering Engineer: Rainer Gembalczyk
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 05/19/19