City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Lo Que Dice Mi Cantar Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Trio Palabras
Title: Lo Que Dice Mi Cantar
Format: LP 180 Gram Vinyl
Catalog Number:101
Barcode:693692800517 itemnumber=1000123664
Price: $44.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 6/21/2019
Availability: In Stock
Return Eligibility: NON-RETURNABLE
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

LO QUE DICE MI CANTAR (What My Singing Says) is a walk through places and time with some of Trova's founding legends. From Lorenzo Hierrezuelo's energetic "Vendedor de Agua" and Pepe Sanchez's "Tristezas" (the very first Cuban bolero) to the somber "Esta Vez Toco Perder" (popularized by the legendary Maria Teresa Vera), these passionate performances honor the venerable Cuban Trova tradition and speak directly to our modern heart. The soaring vocal harmonies of Trio Palabras vocalists Vania Martinez and Liane Pérez, with the nuanced yet bold guitar accompaniment of Nubia González along with a wealth of some of Cuba's finest instrumentalists, combine to sweep us away, and if only for a few moments, provide a brief respite for the soul in this hectic world. "All the tracks on this album were recorded in single takes. There was no editing, no overdubbing and only minimal post-production. The musicians were all playing at the same time in a studio live room, so the natural balance you hear is what the artists intended. LO QUE DICE MI CANTAR is packaged in a deluxe gatefold jacket with a beautiful 16-page booklet of lyrics (with English translations), production and historical notes. The 180-gram vinyl was mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering and pressed at RTI for lifelike sound and pristine surfaces. This is an LP made with love for a most rarified listening experience. Discover a timeless musical form in a startling and full dimensional new way. 180 Gram 33 RPM

Track Listing
El Vendedor de Agua (The Water Seller)

Tristezas (Sadness)

Yo Quisiera (I Wish)

Doble Inconciencia (Double Unconsciousness)

Pensamiento (Thought)

La Ausencia (The Absence)

Mujer Perjura (Lying Woman)

Esta Vez Toco Perder (This Time I Lost)

Ay! Simon (Oh! Simon)

El Soldado (The Soldier)

Tentempie (Snack)

Performers on this Album
Vania Martinez, vocals
Liane Perez, vocals
Nubia Gonzalez, classical guitar
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: LP         
Vinyl Weight: 180 grams
Mastering Facility: Bernie Grundman Mastering
Mastering Engineer: Chris Bellman
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 10/26/20