City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Ragtime Wizardry - Volume 2 Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Various Artists
Title: Ragtime Wizardry - Volume 2
Format: CD
Label: RIVERMONT  ( )
Catalog Number:2247
Barcode:620953621628 itemnumber=1000123712
Price: $17.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 6/21/2019
Availability: Not Currently In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

(5% DISCOUNT THRU 6-28-19) Building on the success of the original "Ragtime Wizardry," Volume 2 features 18 more of today's top ragtime pianist-composers playing their own works in exclusive recordings made just for this special collection. The result is an entertaining and wonderfully diverse sampling of ragtime piano in the 21st century. While some of the compositions are firmly rooted in the structure and harmonic language of Scott Joplin, Joseph Lamb, and their contemporaries, others draw inspiration from novelty piano, stride, rock, folk, classical, and other idioms. Each is infused with the distinct voice of its composer. From the exuberant "Bomba Walk" to the melancholic "Allegheny Rag" to the folksy "Brazos," as publisher John Stark might say, here is ragtime that is different! "Ragtime Wizardry, Volume 2" brings together many of today's most popular ragtime pianists and composers from around the world: Tom Roberts, Jack Rummel, Ethan Uslan, Fred Hoeptner, Glenn Jenks, Tom Brier, Jack Bradshaw, Jacob Adams, Charlie Judkins, Michael Chisholm, Will Perkins, David Cavalari, Matthew Gillespie, Andrew Barrett, Dale Hadley, Kylan deGhetaldi, Michael Winstanley, Edward Maraga, and Domingo Mancuello. The CD package includes a handsome 24-page booklet with full program notes and biographies of each of the composers. 18 tracks. 68 minutes.

Track Listing
[3:27] Quintessential Rag

[2:59] Brazos

[3:56] Divination Rag

[5:07] Fairview Rag

[2:18] Horse Teeth Rag

[3:02] Flakey - A Ragtime Two-Step

[5:06] Mercury Rag - A Nocturne

[3:33] Septuagenarian Stroll

[4:19] Portrait in Rag No. 4 - A Jingler

[1:47] The Bomba Walk - A Syncopated Frenzy

[3:57] Kitten Britches

[3:08] Palisades Rag

[2:23] Ragtime Whack-a-Mole

[4:20] The Little St. Vrain

[5:31] Allegheny Rag

[2:51] Moustache on the Keys

[3:14] Giant Slide Rag

[5:09] Duffy

Performers on this Album
Jacob Adams: piano, composer [1]
Michael Chisholm: piano, composer [2]
Kylan deGhetaldi: piano, [3,18], composer [3]
Andrew Barrett: piano, composer [4]
Charlie Judkins: piano, composer [5]
Michael Winstanley: piano, composer [6]
Matthew Gillespie: piano, composer [7]
Jack Bradshaw: piano, composer [8]
Tom Brier: piano [9]
Fred Hoeptner: composer [9]
Domingo Mancuello: piano, composer [10]
Dale Hadley: piano, composer [11]
Edward Maraga: piano, composer [12]
Ethan Uslan: piano, composer [13]
Jack Rummel: piano, composer [14]
Tom Roberts: piano, composer [15]
Will Perkins: piano, composer [16]
David Cavalari: piano, composer [17]
Glenn Jenks: composer [18]
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 06/24/19