City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >In Love Again Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Kent, Stacey
Title: In Love Again
Format: LP 180 Gram Vinyl
Catalog Number:9786
Barcode:5060149621035 itemnumber=1000123918
Price: $44.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Release Date: 7/10/2019
Availability: Not Currently In Stock
Return Eligibility: NON-RETURNABLE
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout

Stacey Kent is back, with her regular combo, for an engaging tribute to Richard Rodgers. In addition to routinely covered songs like "It Never Entered My Mind" and "Bewitched," the Britain-based vocalist looks to the South Pacific book and comes up with two items seldom performed in a jazz context &emdash; "I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair" and "Bali Ha'i." Happily, these are two of the best cuts; the former, with its burlesque-ish 6/8 middle section, works amazingly well. The sound is strong, highlighting the nicely varied arrangements and the innate charm of Kent's puckish voice. David R. Adler/ AMG. Whether the thirteen songs sung here by Stacey have lyrics by Oscar or Larry Hart, the inescapable fact is that they are all jewels. Stacey’s carefully conceived collection of just some of the Richard Rodgers classics all receive trademark Kent interpretations which the melodies and lyrics deserve. Impeccably delivered – clean and well defined. Rodgers and Hart and Hammerstein would have approved. Alan Bates

Track Listing
Side A:

Shall we dance

Bewitched, Bothered and bewildered

My heart stood still

It never entered my mind

I wish I were in love again

Thou swell

Side B:

It might as well be spring

Nobody’s heart (belong’s to me)

I’m gonna wash that man right outta my hair

This can’t be love

Easy to remember


Bali ha’i

Performers on this Album
Stacey Kent: vocals / Jim Tomlinson: tenor saxophone, flute /Colin Oxley: guitar/ David Newton: piano/ Simon Thorpe: bass/ Jasper Kviberg: drums
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: LP         
Vinyl Weight: 180 grams
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 07/09/20