City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >All Too Soon: The Music Of Duke Ellington Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Whitaker, Rodney
Title: All Too Soon: The Music Of Duke Ellington
Format: CD
Catalog Number:82789
Barcode:805558278921 itemnumber=1000124121
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 10/18/2019
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern Jazz Sextet 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
Midwest, East coast performances; 340 US radio and press contacts services including JazzWeek reporting stations

For the second installment of an ambitious five-CD project, undertaken to observe his fiftieth birthday, master bassist Rodney Whitaker convenes a world-class sextet to pay homage to the oeuvre of Duke Ellington. It's a subject that Whitaker came to know intimately during his 9-year tenure with the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra, regarding it as his Ph.D in Ellingtonia through performance, deep study, and spirited conversation with Wynton Marsalis and bandmates through those years. With a front line of modern jazz masters - Brian Lynch, Michael Dease and Diego Rivera, the fiery, modern aesthetic of drummer Karriem Riggins, along with pianist Richard Roe and vocals by Rockelle Fortin, Whitaker celebrates the timelessness of Ellington's works by allowing them to live and breathe through the freewheeling, "cutting session" atmosphere he created for the session.

Track Listing
[4:17]  Cotton Tail      

[3:41]  All To Soon    

[5:28]  Take the A Train  

[7:01]  Just Squeeze Me    

[6:12]  Mood Indigo    

[4:37]  It Don't Mean a Thing    

[4:22]  Harlem Air Shaft   

[4:30]  Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me     

[7:00]  Perdido         

[4:51]  Azure       

[6:14]  Come Sunday      

[5:08]  Caravan      

Performers on this Album
Brian Lynch - Trumpet
Diego Rivera - Tenor Saxophone
Michael Dease - Trombone
Richard Roe - Piano
Rodney Whitaker - Bass
Karriem Riggins - Drums
Kavon Gordon - Drums (11,12)
Rockelle Whitaker - Vocals
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Solid Sound Studio, Ann Arbor, MI
Original Recording Engineer: Eric Wojahn
Mastering Facility: Solid Sound Studio, Ann Arbor, MI
Mastering Engineer: Eric Wojahn
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 06/01/20