City Hall Records Catalog

Independent Record Distribution since 1973
News Upcoming Releases WaxToWatch OnSale Artists Labels Genres Related Contact  
Cityhall > Catalog >Blueprints - Figure Two: New Designs Site Map | Prev ¦ Next
Artist: Rutz, Markus
Title: Blueprints - Figure Two: New Designs
Format: CD
Label: OA2 RECORDS  ( )
Catalog Number:22184
Barcode:805552218428 itemnumber=1000124747
Price: $15.98  (All prices include domestic shipping.)
Genre: JAZZ
Release Date: 9/18/2020
Availability: In Stock
Additional Musical Category Notes:
Modern Jazz Sextet 

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout
Promotional Info
Midwest performances; 340 US radio contacts serviced including JazzWeek reporting stations & 100 Press contacts

"Rutz's horn is warm and embracing in each setting, glistening on the more Spartan themes, making the various colors and textures presented here woven like a Raphael tapestry." - Jazz Weekly. "Figure Two: New Designs" is the second volume from Chicago trumpeter and composer Markus Rutz's Blueprints series. While 2019's "Figure One: Frameworks" honored Markus's mentors, family and the musical greats who influenced his sound and career, New Designs looks to the future with new discoveries in personal and musical growth. Navigating diverse ensemble and stylistic directions through 6 original compositions and jazz standards by McCoy Tyner, Sam Rivers and Frank Foster, Rutz conjures intrigue, beauty and dynamism through his orchestrations which include sparkling ensemble passages and intimate duets. With saxophonist Brice Winston, bassist Marcos Varela, drummers Xavier Breaker and Marcus Evans, Adrian Ruiz on piano, guitarist Matt Gold and Heitor Garcia on percussion, the volumes of Blueprints capture a compelling moment in an artist's journey. "...a big, dark tone and a fluid ease to his phrasing makes him seem relaxed even when unleashing a volley of 16th notes..." Downbeat.

Track Listing
[8:20]  Passion Dance                               

[3:52]  East to West                                        

[7:10]  Shipmates

[6:46]  A Cidade do Vento                                

[3:01]  Looking Out Windows                       

[6:16]  Simone                                               

[4:53]  The Musicianer        

[4:53]  Beatrice                                               

[9:31]  Keppard’s Kerchief

Performers on this Album
Markus Rutz - trumpet
Brice Winston - saxophones, soprano (3)
Marcos Varela - bass
Adrian Ruiz - piano
Heitor Garcia - percussion (4)
Matt Gold - guitar
Xavier Breaker - drums (1,3,9)
Marcus Evans - drums (6,7)
Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: CD         
Original Recording Location: Transient Sound, Chicago, Illinois
Original Recording Engineer: Vijay Tellis-Nayak & Tyler Rice
Mastering Facility: Blackler Mastering, Brooklyn, New York
Mastering Engineer: Kevin Blackler
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 City Hall Records,San Rafael,CA - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 10/01/20